Mixing to tape from DAW?

thefanbelow

Hey everyone, I am awaiting a Tascam 424 mkIII in the mail and just had a question.

I want to record to tape and then transfer to my DAW to mix and maybe add barely some stuff, but have heard about artists who then transfer it BACK to tape for either mastering or just burning it to a CD.

I'm new to this so that may have made no sense, but is there a way to do this? I'm trying to preserve the analog sound/feel as much as possible and even though transferring it to my DAW I'm sure will remove some of the feel, maybe putting it back on the Tascam is the way to enrich it again? Can anyone aware me on how to do this and if my intentions are misguided

If you mean just transfering the mixed stereo DAW file to tape...it's no big deal, just connect a stereo pair from your DAW/converters out to the tape deck and record on the tape.
Of course, you then have to transfer it back again to the DAW to create a CD.

You should try it both ways...
Transfering back to tape from the DAW, and back to the DAW again...or just leaving it the DAW.
Not sure how much you will gain with just that transfer back to tape...it might be what you like, then again it might not.

If you mean just transfering the mixed stereo DAW file to tape...it's no big deal, just connect a stereo pair from your DAW/converters out to the tape deck and record on the tape.
Of course, you then have to transfer it back again to the DAW to create a CD.

You should try it both ways...
Transfering back to tape from the DAW, and back to the DAW again...or just leaving it the DAW.
Not sure how much you will gain with just that transfer back to tape...it might be what you like, then again it might not.