"Mixing for Dummies" kind of site

sleejay80

Hi,

I'm just starting out, got all my tracks recorded with GarageBand,
now I need mix.

Can anyone recommend me a "Mixing for Dummies" kind of site, for starters like me?

I know the basics: volume/pan for location, EQ to remove mush, comp to thicken things up, and reverb for airyness.

So I need a real how-to, techniques, 1-2-3 kind of stuff, not just general ideas.

Thanks in advance!

It's not anything you can be taught really, you have to trust your ears and know when something not balanced or is balanced

Just keep at it, read all you can here and other resources. Most of all experiment till mixing becomes second nature to any project that your working on. and constantly be asking questions.
It's not a 1,2,3 kind of process thou i wish it was like that - kind of like learning while your in the matrix in the movie of the same name - it takes years to train your ears and to know what your listening for, let alone knowing your equipment inside and out.

The only 1,2,3 that works:

1- Set everything flat. No EQ. No compressors. No reverb. No panning. No effects. All tracks turned on.

2- Listen to it.

3- Fix what is wrong.

You'd be surprised how many people skip 1 and 2.

The only 1,2,3 that works:

1- Set everything flat. No EQ. No compressors. No reverb. No panning. No effects. All tracks turned on.

2- Listen to it.

3- Fix what is wrong.

You'd be surprised how many people skip 1 and 2.

I think that's mostly because DAWs have made the tracking, mixing, mastering processes feel like one.
I think a lot of people are applying all kinds of FX/Processing as they track/edit...not to mention, many are probably editing as they track.
They record a track or two...then edit and apply FX/Processing...then record a couple of more tracks...etc...
...and that's a bad way to go, IMO...though I'm sure it's being done all the time like that.