mixing down to stereo .wav (final, but not master)

welldonep

howdy people . . . well, i've searched the forum for this, but could not find an answer, or more specifically, perhaps the answer i was looking for. here's the deal . . . i've recorded many a song on my br8 (DAW), and recently started using CE to edit the tracks, clean them up, etc., . . . i will be needing to do final stereo mixes soon, and was wondering about mixing in CE. i understand the 'mix down to file' function, but i would like to control the volume of tracks, etc. . . . more in the way of mixing on a console down to a stereo pair of tracks. in other words, can i 'arm' a stereo pair of tracks, and mix say 10-12 tracks down to those two. is this possible? i am new to CE, so please pardon my ingnorance here. thanks for any suggestions/advice.

cheers~ -peter

To mix down into stereo using Cool Edit set the volume levels you want and then use the Pan buttons and then after you get that right and add what effects you want then click down mix down all waves and that will be your stereo mix using cool edit

welldone, you don't arm tracks for a mixdown. While you're in multitrack, you set the level of each track so it sounds good when you play everything back together. As RD pointed out, you can also pan tracks and add effects if you like. Then, when everything sounds the way you like it, and nothing's clipping, you click on Edit>Mixdown, and Cool Edit will make a stereo mixdown of everything on the multitrack screen. At that point, it'll kick over into the edit screen, and you can convert the mix to CD quality and save it as well.

welldonep said:
but i would like to control the volume of tracks, etc. . . . more in the way of mixing on a console down to a stereo pair of tracks. in other words, can i 'arm' a stereo pair of tracks
Dude...It took me forever to figure this out..."WHERE ARE THE FREAKIN' SLIDERS SO I CAN "MIX" DURING MIXDOWN????