mixing down from a 4track to a cd recorder

Don

Just wondering if anyone has had any experience mixing down from a 4 track cassette recorder to a stand alone cd recorder. I'm thinking of buying a Phillips Magnavox cd recorder, but I've heard that there may be some down sides to it. I know I could get a cd burner, but I really don't want to take up space on my computer. Which brings me to another stupid question (I'm a song writer for cryin' out loud, not a computer technician.) How do you hood up a 4 track cassette recorder to a cd burner?
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

Very simple:
Just connect the stereo line outs on your 4 trk. cassette to the analog stereo line ins on the CD recorder.

With stand alone CD recorders there are "consumer" and "pro" decks.The Philips?Magnavox is most likely a consumer deck.

With the consumer decks you won't be able to make digital copies of your CD's. Also you will need to record on "music only" CDR's. These blank "music only" CDR's are a dollar or two more per CD.

With a "pro" deck you can use any CDR or
CD-RW blank, therefore saving a dollar or two per CDR. There is no SCMS, so you can make unlimited digital copies of CD's.

The "pro" deck will cost you a couple of hundred more.

The stand alone units are as easy record on as a regular cassette player/recorder.

[This message has been edited by hixmix (edited 03-07-2000).]

[This message has been edited by hixmix (edited 03-07-2000).]

You said you don't want to use space on your PC for a burner...
How about this - record into your computer a group of songs you'd like on a CD. You can then tweak them (using programs like Cool Edit) and make sure they sound good before burning... Then burn! Once you have your "master" CD (or two) delete all the original wav files from your HD. You'll only need about 650 MB per disc...