Mixing Bass

wordizbon

Question. I have decided to jump into recording bass into my tracks.

I have a Fender P bass that I record directly into my Mackie 1604 into Cubase SX via a MOTU 2408. I record dry.

I want to start experimenting with plug ins, eq, dynamic processing, etc. Are there any tricks that I could try out being I have no experience in doing such. Anything I should know (how will this affect the drums.) I would like to make the bass come alive instead of this dead sound I have now. Where do I start?

Experts where are you, show some skills for me will you

Same rules apply.

I generally apply EQ and effects first, then compression. If you compress then add more bass and effects that could raise the volume/db, then you may get clipping/distortion.

I used the standard 'compressorX' plugin that came with Sonar 2.0 and 3.0 XL. Has a preset Electric bass compression algorithm that seemed to do a nice job. It can be applied a few times, beefing up a buried track of bass in a loud song.

Last edited: