mixers

Azza666

hi all,

i've just started recording recently and am hunting around for the best equipment whilst building my new home studio lol :)

just wondering if someone could give me a bit of info on how mixers work if your using a computer for recording instead of a "studio in a box solution"..... e.g. do you need to get one that uses firewire/usb or how does this work do u need some other sort of direct connection? and can u load each track of the mixer separately into your DAW such as reaper

also, how do you go for the soundcard? would you just use the mixer as the soundcard and have it running to your amp and speakers?

i currently have a ux2 and just use that for my soundcard.... would i be able to continue doing that or would i need to route everything through the mixer?

sorry if some of these questions are stupid lol im still new to all this and trying to get an idea of how things work and the best way to do it

any help or advice would be much appreciated :cool:

thanks guys!!

If you get a firewire mixer, it will definately stream all tracks to your PC individually. A USB mixer typically sends only the 2 channel stereo mix. A fw or usb mixer appears in your OS as a sound card.

If your mixer does not have firewire or USB, you'll need an interface. You'd need a mixer that has direct outs on it, and you plug the direct outs into the interface's inputs. The mixer in this scenario is sorta unnecessary, because you could be plugging the mics right into the interface directly, which is what you ought to do unless you have a really nice mixer with significantly better pre's than the interface. In this scenario, the interface will be your pc's sound card.

In either case, disable the pc's existing soudncard in bios if possible. Then use the mixer/interface to play your mp3's, video games, and windows sounds thru your monitors.