mixers with direct channel outs

chris857

What are some descent mixers that have a direct line out for each channel (Perferabley under $1000 if possible)? Does Mackie make any that do?

All the Mackie VLZ-PRO line have direct outs for the mike input channels.
Some of the larger Behringer mixers have direct outs, but they are missing from the smaller units.

Alesis Studio 24 and 32 both have direct-outs and monitor ins.
Stay the hell away from Behringer Mixers!

I have a Mackie 1604 VLZ - as the above thread stated all Mackie's have direct outs. On the 1604 the first 8 channels have direct outs, the other 8 do not.

You can find a Mackie 16 channel for under a grand with no problem and they are good mixers with pretty good preamps too - but that is subjective I guess.

I too would stay away from the Behringer.

Board

I'm new to digital recording (Roland vs880ex) and have borrowed a friends Makie board and drove him nuts with questions. It's cleand, controlableand best of all it does what is says it will do. I'm sold.

and don't forget, those "inserts" on each channel can be used as direct outs too....just push the plug in "half-way"

The Allen & Heath Mix Wizard 16:2 has direct outs for each of the 16 channels.
More than just "decent" and under a grand.

I dislike Behringer mixers for a lot of reasons

1/ The first time I saw one advertised and realised it looked just like a Mackie it offended me that they would try to rip everyone off so blatantly.

2/ I discovered soon after that I also didn't like the sound or feel of the board.

3/ Since then I have come across very many malfunctioning Behringer boards. Channels that sound totally different from each other, a solo level knob that induced a loud hum on the main L/R outputs, channel preamps that crapped out on an only mildly hot kick drum signal, non working headphone outs, etc. These were all on different boards and are just things that I have personally experienced.

3 ways to use Insert on a mixer