Mixer/sound card vs. Interface

masterofpuppets

I need help on deciding between buying a mixer and sound card or just getting a firewire interface. I looked through the homerecording site, and I went to my local dealer for infomation. So far the site says go mixer and my shop said go interface. I dont have a huge budget, I think my band and I can afford something up to $600-700. I am really new to recording so I dont know that much. I know that the interface I was looking at had 4 inputs. Only 2 mic and 2 other, the mics didnt have phantom power so I couldent use condencers on that one. The mixer does have phantom power and 4 mic inputs (8 channel). Other than that I cant really remember all that myself and the tech on hand at the shop talked about. I just need some other opinions on this.

Are you going to be recording acoustic drums with your band? If so you might want to consider something with 8 inputs.

Would need more details on your firewire interface but I use an 8 channel mixer and 8 input (although at the moment I'm not doing acoustic drums so I've got more inputs than I need) Delta 1010. I like this configuration as the mixer gives me plenty of routing options. I'd lean on going with the mixer and something like an MAudio delta 44 or equiv. Then you already have 48V power. But I would most certainly start saving your quarters for a good preamp.

The Interface I was looking at is the M-AUDIO firewaire Aduio Duo. Now I was told this is a good interface for its price (About $530 CND) and allows me to moniter in real-time verse of a mixer with no effects added. Like I said though I was told this. The mixer I ws looking at was the Yamaha MG12-4 I think. With a M-AUDIO sound card, which the model number I forgot.