Mixer or Digital recorder

animesh_joshi

I would be starting to record music on my own soon and i'm am looking for equipment over the internet.

I am a sort of newbie so i had a some questions in my mind..

What is the difference between a mixer (eg Phonic Helix18 FireWire MKII 18-Channel Mixer) and a digital recorder (eg Fostex MR16HD 16-Track Digital Recorder) ? Do both of them deliver the same result?

Is it advisable to plug your guitar/bass to a mixer and then mixer to the recorder?

Please advise. I would be interested in recording rock genre

joshi,

difference in the two is that the digital mixer you record directly into the built in harddrive. It also has its own sound effects and other gizmos built in. As for the firewire mixer, it records directly into your computer and you use the recording software in your computer. Both are good, but some have there advantages. Digital mixers are portable, while the fire wire mixer is too, as long as you have a laptop computer to use. Hope this helps, good luck in choosing what you might like.

hey soundman,

thanks for the reply, i've just formed a new band and we'd be interested in recording demos to give out to pubs/clubs to get gigs etc.

I believe we should go with digital recorder/mixer with built-in storage etc. The digital recorder also has knobs and controls to control sound so we should be able to have good quality.

hey soundman,

thanks for the reply, i've just formed a new band and we'd be interested in recording demos to give out to pubs/clubs to get gigs etc.

I believe we should go with digital recorder/mixer with built-in storage etc. The digital recorder also has knobs and controls to control sound so we should be able to have good quality.

I've used both digital mixer (also known as a Studio In The Box) and DAW (computer recording set up). And by far, the DAW is the way to go.