Mixer or DI?

MikeNovy

I am new to all of this. Just started home recording. Not looking to sell a million CD's just want a good sound, and have fun. I play all of the instruments in my songs and do all of the vocals. My set up is an M Audio Mbox 2 audio interface, with Pro Tools, and Sonar 8 software, I have a couple of KRK Rokit 6 monitors.
My question is when I record (mostly DI, in a small untreated room), should Use a mixer, (small Tapco), or go directly into the audio interface with my instruments, (fender Telecaster, Ibanez Artcore Hollow body, Ovation Celebrity, and Yamaha 625 keyboard, Epiphone Thunder bird bass). I dont have any songs up for you to listen to yet but Im working on some will post them soon.
Thanks

There is no right or wrong.
If you like to have the complete control in your computer (means mixing, effects,...) you should use the direct input of your audio interface.
But this requires a few inputs.

Other people still prefer mixing on usual (analog) mixers and put the
sum or the bus outs to the PC. But if you don't have a digital mixer,
you may not be able to store the mixer's settings.
Too bad, if you working parallelly on several tracks.

So:
If you have those inputs, use them and avoid fighting with a mixer,
which outputs have to be fed to the PC anyway for the final recording.
But you could do some kind of pre-mixing with your guitars, and feed
the single mixer outputs (using Sends or AUX) to your audio interface inputs afterwards.

It is all up to you, and how you want to spend time on the overview, the cables, ... ;)

Best wishes,
Mike

I am new to all of this. Just started home recording. Not looking to sell a million CD's just want a good sound, and have fun. I play all of the instruments in my songs and do all of the vocals. My set up is an M Audio Mbox 2 audio interface, with Pro Tools, and Sonar 8 software, I have a couple of KRK Rokit 6 monitors.