Mixer Information

I am currently looking for a good mixer and everyone recommends a "mackie". Where do I go to find out about all the mackie mixers available and look at which one is right for me. Also, has anyone got any good suggestions for a good all round $200-$400 mixer?

Yes, go this a Mackie. I love mine. I bought a 1402vlz through the Harmony.com classified. You can use this with audio and video productions. Mackie is the only choice for me.

I went to mackie.com and all I could find under products was a couple of new "compact" mixers and an amp - mixer combination. Where do I get information about the plain mixers. (Perhaps I'm not looking properly)??

before you buy a mackie, check out a studiomaster. i think the studiomaster is a more musical mixer...i've owned a mackie 1202, and now i have a studiomaster rotary club, which is comparable...however, the mackie does have channel inserts and xlr outs, which are lacking on the studiomaster. if you decide to get a mackie , i don't think you'll be disapointed..however, i think the studiomaster stuff is really nice. for your info, fostex makes a digitial mixer, for about $250 but it lacks a lot of features found on analog mixers in your price range...however, it does have a digital out (unfortuneately not an rca connector)plus it has effects. hope this helps.

Thanks for the pointers, but now I have another question. Could you explain the specifications - 12x2x1, 14x2x1 and 16x4x2. I know that the first number is the number of channels, but what are the other two?

haven't dealt with mackies in a while..but i think this is it...the 1202 and the 1402 are stereo mixers, stereo outs, while the 1604 is a four bus mixer...the 1604 gives you four different channels of output with whatever you want on each channel from what your mixing....think of a simple stereo mixer with panning as a 2 bus mixer...i wouldn't think you'd need anything more than a stereo, two bus, mixer, unless your tracking a live band.