Minimalist studios?

gmiller1122

Addled but happy
Just curious --

Is there anyone here who is NOT a gearhead -- that is, you choose to keep things relatively simple in terms of gear -- not out of necessity or lack of funds, but more because you A) Don't like clutter, B) Feel it just gets in the way, C) Have decided that 'less is more', or D) Other....

I'm just beginning to plan a home studio and am reading as much as I can and looking at as many pics as I can, just soaking it all in....Thanks for the feedback.

G

I hate to say it, but...

that is probably where most of us ... started...

and then you want to get better, do more things, acheive more professional sound, etc, etc, etc...

but it IS the starting point, and a Good one at that!!!

mine was a simple tascam 414, a very simple, but excellant learning tool...

ever know a guitarist who didn't want another guitar, or a different amp ?

What could I do with ?????

careful, it's a trap - but it's fun - keep it that way, at whatever level is fun for you.

b-h

GM,

> Is there anyone here who is NOT a gearhead <

Yeah, me. I used to have a ton of gear, and I sold it all about four years ago. Now I do everything inside the computer using Sonar Producer with plug-ins, and I couldn't be happier. The only gear I have is a little Mackie mixer for mike preamps and basic monitoring, and of course power amps and loudspeakers.

--Ethan

I used to have a ton of gear, and I sold it all about four years ago. Now I do everything inside the computer using Sonar Producer with plug-ins, and I couldn't be happier. The only gear I have is a little Mackie mixer for mike preamps and basic monitoring, and of course power amps and loudspeakers.

Ethan,
My kinda guy! Though I'm still figuring gear out, I'm slowly understanding the difference between what looks cool and what is actually worth the time and money and space!

then you want to get better, do more things, acheive more professional sound, etc, etc, etc...

b-h,