Midi Vocal

lmnopuna

Is it midi when you here a band or a commercial take a word and make it sound like it has been chopped into 32nd notes, (or whatever note), or is it some kind of audio effect? Also a friend of mine who doesn't know to much about midi or sampling, said I could use mmy triton rack to record a word as a sample and then it would act as any of my midi patches, and I would be able to dice it up in Digital Performer3? Does that work? Can you turn a vocal into midi? One last very important question. What exactly is the use for a sampler as opposed to any regular recording device? In other words, what does a sampler do?

As you can read I'm just getting into this aspect of music. I need the crash course on the basics.

Thanks

Can you turn a vocal into midi?

No, you can't. MIDI data is all performance data -- which note number (pitch), how long it was held for (duration), which program number (which the receiving device maps to a particular sound patch), how hard you hit the key (velocity), how har you press the key until you release it (aftertouch), and so on -- but there is absolutely zero inherent audio information. No way at all for the MIDI information to incorporate digitized audio data.

and I would be able to dice it up in Digital Performer3?