midi velocity with V-Drums / Sonar

rodvonbon

belly full of beer
Hey all,

I am new to Sonar and midi, so dont beat me up on this too much.

I have previously done all of my audio recording in Vegas, but have recently started messing with midi recording so I got Sonar.
I am recording my V-drums into Sonar 2.0-Battery-Drumkit from hell. I can record/playback no problem, my problem is this:
All of the drum hits seem to be at an equal level on playback no matter how hard or soft the drum was hit. When I record from the audio line outs of the V-Drums the diffrent velocitys are there, but via midi there are no dynamics between the heavy and soft hits.
Know what I mean?
Im supposing it could be a setting on the Drum modual or in Sonar.
If anyone could shed some light on this I would greatly appreciate it.

thanks,
rodvonbon

rodvonbon said:
Im supposing it could be a setting on the Drum modual or in Sonar.
I'm pretty sure it's not Sonar. Most likely the MIDI output of your V-Drums module...

You want to talk to Dachay2tnr! Paging Dachay....

Yeah,....Moskus,

I need you and "THE" other cakewalk guys to get in on this.
I've done my research on all of you :D, in the "hey Moskus" thred.

Please, please, tell me why:

When I play the V-Drums through Battery as a stand alone (in real time) there are no problems. Every hit is louder or softer in relation to how I hit the drum . So that tells me (deductive reasioning :rolleyes: ) that it's not the drum modual.
Some how the way the midi data is recieved either through my soundcard (could be that?) or into Sonar is fucking it up.
If I were to Follow my own reasoning, the soundcard being a problem does not make much sense, concidering the soundcard generates the same midi data for Battery as It does Sonar. Right?:confused:

So why does the kick drum always show 65 as a velocity no matter how hard or soft I hit it in Sonar?
Im sure it's me that's doing something wrong.
Does this make any sense to anyone?