MIDI Tuning ?

I'm new to MIDI though not new to computers or recording.

I got everything working, MicroKorg through m-audio interface to PC. However when I converted the file to WAV and sent it to my recording device to play along with guitar I found a problem.

The MIDI tracks were not tuned the same as the guitar. So I tune my guitar using a POD XTL tuner which has been pretty accurate. But the MIDI "C" chord on the piano was clearly out of key with the guitar "C" chord.

Note I was using a free Grand Piano sound font through SFZ for the MIDI

Any thoughts ?

Thanks

Tony

Any thoughts
?

Yes, Something is out of tune :p Intonation is a state of mind :cool:

OK:

1. How do you know the pod is accurate?

2, Different timbres have different intonation

3. I assume you can download free software tuners. Cakewalk has one in Sonar, my J-Station has one, I have never tried either.

If you ever go to see a quartet or a symphony, you will notice that people tune frequently yet nobody has a tuner. The oboe does but I dont think they know how to use it. We tune to the leader, or the oboe or the piano.

The piano cannot move ( in theory). A real piano cant in a concert, so you tune to it. If you go to a church and the piano is REALLY low, tough. You tune low.

The proper way to tune is to tune to the piano. Assuming it is in tune, that is your benchmark. In a string quartet we say "who has a good A" and we tune to one person. If we all had tuners it would be disaster because we would interpret the readings differently and a tuner is not always correct.

In the symphony we tune to the oboe. You could leave the same tuner out and ten oboe players would blow different A's, its timbre and perception. The only thing you can do is adjust to the A of the oboe player at the moment. THEREFORE the only REAL way to tune is for you to tune to the piano.