MIDI Keyboard

Azza666

Hi all,

I am really new to all of this and really need some help/advice on how to use my new MIDI keyboard.

Basically I brought the model at http://www.binarydesigns.com.au/bdstore/ESIKC49.html and it arrived yesterday with a USB cable.

I plugged it in and installed the drivers, but how the heck do i play the thing? What software should I be using? Do I need to set it up in the software or what?

I pretty much just want to give it cool sounds like a drum kit, violin, etc etc and be able to record it to mix other stuff like my guitars and that.

Another friend of mine said that you need a proper sound card and MIDI cable..... does this mean i should buy a new soundcard that specifically supports midi and plug the keyboard into this instead of the USB?

Sorry if these questions seem dumb as they probably are lol I just dont know where to start!!

Many thanks in advance

Cheers

:)

Hi all,

I am really new to all of this and really need some help/advice on how to use my new MIDI keyboard.

Basically I brought the model at http://www.binarydesigns.com.au/bdstore/ESIKC49.html and it arrived yesterday with a USB cable.

I plugged it in and installed the drivers, but how the heck do i play the thing? What software should I be using? Do I need to set it up in the software or what?

I pretty much just want to give it cool sounds like a drum kit, violin, etc etc and be able to record it to mix other stuff like my guitars and that.

Another friend of mine said that you need a proper sound card and MIDI cable..... does this mean i should buy a new soundcard that specifically supports midi and plug the keyboard into this instead of the USB?

Sorry if these questions seem dumb as they probably are lol I just dont know where to start!!

Many thanks in advance

Cheers

Don't worry about asking questions in the newbies section. That's what it's here for.

Give the manual a good read through. It's probably got the answers to most of your questions.