midi keyboard

cpc

i'm just getting started with midi...have been creating tracks with fruity loops using my mouse and think its time to step up to a midi keyboard/control interface type thing. i was wondering what is recomended around here as a good beginner keyboard. i was thinking for springing for a 500 dollar yamaha i found at best buy but i dont have midi on my m-audio mobile pre soundcard so usb is pretty much needed. and midi control is probably more important to me right now than an actual keyboard. ive been looking around at musicians friend and zzounds and have found a few different cheap m-audio models...such as the oxygen 8..the o2, the radium, and keystation. they are all around 100-150 dollars and i cant tell the difference between any of them really besides number of keys. i would probably prefer a 49 key one, but the compact size of the 25 keys are also appealing..so either one i would be fine with. i'm just looking for a decent quality. also i hear of a couple other brands that make good inexpensive ones. any recomendations? i'd appreciate it.

In the not-too-distant future you'll probably be wanting an audio interface as well, and this would probably be a good choice even though it has only 25 keys.

MAudio pitches this one as being 'good for beginners' but unless your planning to be a beginner for a while you'll probably soon outgrow it.

Emu is a respected name in modules, but I've not heard anything good or bad about this one. This is one that comes with extras though - a Proteus 'Desktop Module' with 1000 sounds --- it's not clear from the test whether this is a hardware unit or a software instrument, not that it really matters.

And one more for good measure --- the one on the current market that I wish I owned. It has a joystick, is very durable and comes with a very comprehensive editor/librarian for you to quickly update profiles for all your software and hardware synths and DAWs.