MIDI Instrument Definitions for Roland

jhughs

Okay, I'm a guitarist and computer geek but have little MIDI experience.
I got my son a Roland RS-70 (similar to RS-50 but with a disk drive, sequencer, & USB).
I found the RS-50 Instrument Definitions and loaded them into Cakewalk Home Studio XL.
Assign a track to the RS50 definitions.
But then when I change the instrument for the track it just plays the standard MIDI sounds (even though the name is different).
I'm missing something, but what?

Last edited:
Hmmm, I wondered if that was the only choice. The RS-70 and PC are in different rooms, but since the RS-70 has a disk drive I want to dump arrangments onto a disk and then play them on the PC. Is my only choice to pump the MIDI back out to the RS-70 and then record the WAV output on separate tracks? That can't be right..... can it? Do I have to buy sound files for the PC from Roland?

Last edited:
you can dump arrangements from the RS-70 to the PC, but you'll be using the PC's sounds. If you want to use the RS-70's sounds you've got to put a midi-out from the PC to the midi-in of the RS-70.

either way your going to have to record the sounds from the RS-70 to WAV in the sequencer.

I do my midi recording using my keyboard into the PC rather than using my keyboards sequencer because the display, utilities and options are better in cakewalk.

jhughs said:
Hmmm, I wondered if that was the only choice. The RS-70 and PC are in different rooms, but since the RS-70 has a disk drive I want to dump arrangments onto a disk and then play them on the PC. Is my only choice to pump the MIDI back out to the RS-70 and then record the WAV output on separate tracks? That can't be right..... can it? Do I have to buy sound files for the PC from Roland?

I am confused here. Or maybe one of us is, could be you :confused:

I thinkI get :

PC in room A
Roland in room B