MIDI from Yamaha p105 into MacBook Pro

ZikO

Hi

I have just noticed my Yamaha P105 does not have a MIDI IN/OUT. I was wondering if it's possible to connect it to MacBook Pro to send and receive MIDI signals. It has USB-HOST though. In manual they say this is for saving files in comp.

I would like to use P105 either directly with Mac or with Focusrite Scarlett 24 to save MIDI sequence in DAW and then play it back from DAW on the piano.

I am totally new to these things. Hope someone can help. Thnx.

Last edited:
Apparently it's possible, according to the brochure. Have you actually tried it to see if it works?

It's not going to blow up.

Apparently it's possible, according to the brochure. Have you actually tried it to see if it works?

It's not going to blow up.

No, I haven't. I was asking about what peoples' experience are in this, not if I damage anything.

I found a PDF P-105 MIDI Reference and it looks like I need to connect the piano straight to computer via USB 2.0 A - USB 2.0 B cable. I have never done it before. I hope it is easy to setup if I have to setup anything at all.

I was also wondering what the options are if I want to use this keyboard as a MIDI controller or connect it to the focusrite audio interface and any "converters" from USB to MIDI which would work.

Google is your friend: Right in the product page---

The P-105 is equipped with USB TO HOST to connect directly to your computer for use with various education, notation and music production applications. There's also an AUX LINE OUT to connect to a computer sound card, mixing console or powered speakers - great for recording or performing live. Since it's a true line-output, the built-in speakers remain on for monitoring as opposed to switching OFF when using the more common headphone output.

Yes it's the same as hooking up a midi cable to a midi keyboard and then using a midi>usb converter box.