Midi drums and sequencers

SilverbayJ

I am on a quest... being a guitarist, I have been slowly getting into the world of midi, and I am going to ask a newby question. I want to find a software program to sequence drums via midi, and be able to run them into pro tools on individual tracks. Currently I have the mbox for my demo work, so it would need to work with the LE 5.3.3 pro tools. I know I need a controller and the software, it's that I don't know what brand or what would work with the mbox.
I have been looking at BFD software, and understand that I need "rewire" to get it to work with pro tools, but will it work with the mbox?
I also have looked into Reason's Drum Kit as well. Yet I would like to find something cheaper. HEHE
Since I am writing heavy metal type music, I need great sounding acoustic drums, along with the ability to compose some serious drum fills, I NEED HELP!!
That's not much of an order is it?
Please give me your advise!!!!! And/or suggestions of software...
Thanks for taking the time to answer my query in advanced!

the mere fact that you have an M-box and know so little about it irks me. I know it shouldn't, but I can't help it.

Now on to your question. Reason 3.0 having been recently introduced there are VERY good deals around on Reason 2.5. Your MBox serves as an interface and therefore will work with Reason as a Rewire slave to (ick) protools. There have been no modifications or updates that I know of to the drums in Reason 3.0 so if that's your primary immediate use you'd be on solid ground to gobble a v.2.5 up at the low fire-sale price. The other stuff in Reason is very handy to have and you will probably grow into it. It's almost ridiculously flexible, and will accomodate metal/black metal/deaf metal/any metal just fine.