Midi drum newb.

Omniscient

Hello everyone! I was wondering what the best way to record midi drums would be? I'm using a m-audio midi controller, DFH, and Sonar 4.

I have no experience with midi drums and was wondering if I would set the channels up like I would if I was recording real drums with separate micing for the snare, bass, cymbals, etc. I'm assuming that's what I would be doing so I could adjust everything in the mix as usual.

What would be the best sequencer to use to record the drums? Just use DFH as a plug in with sonar?

I've been playing around with it and I can't really seem to get a good blastbeat down with the snare and double bass. Is they're certain things I can do to increase the velocity or triggers?

As you can see I have no clue what I'm doing, just ideas I'm going on from what I've researched here.

Any input would be much appreciated. Thanks!

Omniscient said:
I have no experience with midi drums and was wondering if I would set the channels up like I would if I was recording real drums with separate micing for the snare, bass, cymbals, etc. I'm assuming that's what I would be doing so I could adjust everything in the mix as usual.

Well, the midi drum channel is Channel 10. You can make different TRACKS, but it's all going to use one midi channel. I make a midi track for snare, kick, toms, hi-hats etc. I then record them to seperate audio tracks. At some point I will bounce them all to one stereo track simply to save room. If they are on different audio tracks you can process each instrument seperately i.e. certain reverbs on the snare and kick, etc.
What would be the best sequencer to use to record the drums? Just use DFH as a plug in with sonar?

Midi features in Sonar are very good.

Omniscient said:
set the channels up like I would if I was recording real drums