Midi Controller Soft Synth Noob Advice Needed

Please help me out with some general advice/discussion.

I'm a home recorder just doing it for fun. I currently use a Yamaha PSR home keyboard to add some bits and pieces but it's obviously limited.

I want to upgrade and could spend around $500.

I've looked at

Yamaha DGX305
Advantage: Cheapish, has a midi recorder, nice piano sound
Disadvantage: No good synth sounds, large

Yamaha S03
Adv: Nice Piano
Dis: No arp, weak synth

Roland Juno-D
Adv: Good Piano,
Dis: Price not so good

Micro Korg
Adv: Superb Arp, Vintage synth is outstanding
Dis: Small Keyboard, no piano sound

So I came to realize perhaps a soft synth / midi controller is the way to go but I know nothing about them.

Questions:
1) If I buy a $150 controller can I find cheap/free synth modules that are like the Micro Korg
2) Are $150 controllers worthwhile
3) Should I go with the Micro Korg and use as a controller

Sorry for the long post, keep in mind I am just a hobbyist. I am comfortable with the PC but I like that I can play a keyboard live which is not convenient near my PC.

Thanks for the input, please check out my show, see the link below.

Tony

valid questions. I'll try to help because others helped me a few days ago.

I used to do this bigtime with keyboards and sound modules, but imho, a controller and softsynths sounds so much better. here is the kicker, you need to already have a powerful computer.

I bought my m-audio 88 key keyboard two days ago for around $150 new. It is semi weighted and absolutely perfect. It uses on usb to my computer for both power and midi signals. It is also very light 13 lbs, so easily transportable.

I use kontakt $399, but for what I do it is perfect. I wanted real sounding instruments with an emphasis on quality not quantity and kontakt does this for me. If you want synth sounds, reason might be better.