MIDI and Recording

TeenChristian

Hey there! Overall I'm new to MIDI and recording in general. lately I've been recording a keyboard with an SM57 mic and I'm thinking of just purchasing a MIDI cable to go from they keyboard to the Audio Interface, but I have a couple questions. The keyboard I'm using has MIDI in and out inputs and my interface has two inputs. If I want the sound from the keyboard going to the interface will I need to use two cables, one for the in and one for the out inputs on the keyboard, or could I get one cable that does both?

That's my main question but I was also wondering how the quality on the audio was when using MIDI cables etc.

"MIDI out" is an output, not an input. You would connect the MIDI out on your keyboard to the MIDI in on your interface. Does your interface have MIDI input?

that would depend on your VSTi's or the synth you control with the keyboard if im not mistaken

I'm pretty sure you're not understanding what MIDI is. Forgive and correct me if I'm wrong.

MIDI isn't audio. A MIDI signal has no "sound". It's simply sending information to trigger another device that does produce sound.

So, like kp4 said, the quality of your sound using a MIDI cable has nothing to do with the cable, input or even the keyboard you're using as a MIDI comtroller. The quality of sound depends on what you happen to be triggering from your keyboard, wheter it be a VST or soft synth. etc....

How good would the quality of the audio be when using a MIDI cord?

[EDIT: Beaten to the post by Rami! So this is more or less a repeat...]