Mics for acoustic?

BassChase

Yo!
I got protools and a mini mbox for christmas. I want to track acoustic guitar in stereo, but my mbox only has 2 inputs. One of the inputs is aux, the other is 1/4 inch. I was thinking about running matching Rode NT5s but I realized that I cannot provide the required phantom power to both of them at the same time (because of the quarter inch input).

So how should I record acoustic guitar? What do you guys recommend for mics?

Those are pretty good acoustic guitar mics. Certainly there are cheap two channel interfaces with phantom available.

Also,I'll add a small mixer. The Mini has two line ins so you need a simple little mixer with phantom as well as it gives you input control and monitoring. One of those little Mackies , VLZ3 I think, would be perfect. Right at 100 bucks new and less used I think.....

Last edited:
Im pretty new to all this so excuse my ignorance...

So I would run both of the mics into the mackie? And then I would run the outputs to the mbox? That would provide the required power.

The mackie has too many inputs for my needs. What else would you recommend?

Im pretty new to all this so excuse my ignorance...

So I would run both of the mics into the mackie? And then I would run the outputs to the mbox? That would provide the required power.

The mackie has too many inputs for my needs. What else would you recommend?

Yes to the hook-up. The 402 VLZ3 has TWO mic inputs w/phantom power...and two line ins. It also has two lines OUT which would go to the two line ins on your interface. You can also use the Mackie to monitor the inputs with a pair of phones which would also have a volume control.

You need two mic ins with phantom and this is as basic as it gets. As I said...$99 bucks most everywhere. And they sound better than some other products of the same configuration.