Microphone for Classical Singing (Baritone)

davidvypark

Hello, I am an amateur when it comes to recording and equipment. I am used to having recording equipment set up for me so I am a little lost now that I am looking to get my own equipment.

I am looking to record classical singing/opera. I am a dramatic baritone. I am looking to record in open places and good reverb such as churches and concert halls. What sort of microphone do I need for this?

I am researching now and not looking for a quick buy. Of course I want a quality microphone but I don't know what my financial situation will be when I decide to make the purchase as I am still a student.

Currently I own a MXL v67g and a M-audio fast track pro. I got these along with some other equipment as a bundle deal. It was pretty much an impulsive buy and I was told by a friend with a little more experience than me that this microphone is probably not good for recording in a big space.(note: my friend is 2 weeks into a course called: intro to music production)

I did a little digging on other forums and found these recommendations: AKG - C 535 EB and CAD M-179.

Sorry if this post is generic and scattered. To try and summarize:
What kind of microphone is good for recording classical singing?
Do i need to record in an open space for natural reverb?
What are some microphone suggestions? (for now lets say price $100-$1000)

Thanks. I'm sure I'll learn a lot of stuff just from reading replies.

Last edited:
I'll try and elaborate a little more.