microphone for ADR?

slfclash77

im recording dialogue for a movie my friend is directing and i am new to ADR and i was just wondering what would be the best choice in mics? suggestions would be great!

You should try to simulate the actual scenes by using the same type of
microphone(s) as used on the set (usually overhead) and if possible same kind of acoustics
or impulses recorded on the set for convolution reverb.
Matti

If he is doing ADR there may be no microphones on the set whose sound they are actually going to be using. ADR is basicly voiceover work so you would mostly be looking at good voiceover mics: Electrovoice RE20, Shure SM7, Sennheiser MD421 are good dynamics, but also LDC microphones like a SP B1 could work. The most important thing is whatever you choose, use it throughout the movie for that character and ideally all characters. Consistency is king.

Check out a shotgun mic. These are what are generally held over the actors' heads while they're doing a scene, and are very widely used for voice-over and ADR work.

If you want to go the LDC route, look for something that is pretty neutral, not too warm. I've had decent success with an AT 4050 and some EQ.

I worked in one of the top ADR theatres in London for two years, plus have also done sessions in many others and very few use shotgun mics. I would have thought they would have, as these are used a lot on sets. However, there are 'studio' mics that are known to sound similar to the shotguns, only they have better specs.

The one I worked at used U87's a lot as well as another Neumann, which i'm not sure of the model now. Think it was a KSM86? Also had the little Oktava in use sometimes!

They had lots of mics, but these three stayed up all the time. I seem to remember the Oktava was used for exterior recreation and the U87 for interior, but I could be wrong.

The U87 seems very popular in many of the places.