Mic Pre connections help

Hiwatt Bob

hello all, i'm a newbie and happy to be here.

i'm currently using a behringer mx2642a mixer and an Echo "Layla" soundcard into cakewalk sonar 4.

i just brought home the GT Brick and the Joe Meek VC6Q, because i want a mic pre that is an improvement over the pre's in my behringer. my question relates to how to hook these up.

i've read on numerous threads here that you want to go direct from the mic pre to the soundcard. my problem is that my soundcard is designed so that, for example, channel 1 only operates as a Left and channel 2 is right (etc. it has 8 ins). so if i go out from the joe meek into input 1 of my soundcard--i can only hear it in the left of my headphones. needless to say this is not acceptable.

now i imagine i could use the second output of the joe meek and go into my mixer to monitor--but won't the mixer still influence the signal from the meek the same way as if i just ran the meek into the mixer into the soundcard? i mean when i'm setting up a mic and adjusting the levels on the meek, i'll want to hear "it", not "it" going through my mixer. right? so does anyone know how the hell you hook up a mic pre so that it's direct into the soundcard, but still allows you to monitor? or am i just better off sending everything line in to my mixer?

next, the GT Brick only has one output--so i assume my only option will either be to go into my soundcard (and only be able to hear it out of one ear) or send it through my mixer.

sorry, but this is very confusing to me and it seems like it shouldn't be this hard to figure out.

thanks in advance for any insights you might have and it's been my pleasure to meet you all.

ryan

Here's what I do (I have 2 Layla 24/96 cards).

Mic pre out to Layla input 1.

Layla out 1/2 to mixer channels 15/16 to monitor. When using the Layla's outputs, mono signals play back through both left and right. The mixer does not affect the signal going into the soundcard.