Mic Or Interface

h i p h o p

If i spend$600....should i get a sick mic, or a sick interface, to make quality better.....WHAT WOULD MAKE MORE OF AN IMPACT ON MY QUALITY

oooh, good question. Im just learning the basics so i dont know. I would think preamp is more important so interface but you could always spend 300 on mic and 300 on interface. where are you going to be recording

What's your current setup. Usually this question depends on the situation.

Personally, when I upgrade, I upgrade my weakest link. Tell us what you have, then we can tell you what your weakest link is.

Jacob

well...I have a mobile pre interface....and a AT3035 mic...i have a set up in my basement in a small room where i have it soundproof...the quality is good...but i want to try to get it as best as i possibly can. I'm thinking im gonna either sell my mic and get a better one...or sell my interface, and gettin a better one...im assuming those would make the biggest difference in quality, so i wanted to know which on of those should i upgrade that would make a bigger impact with quality...THANKS!

You didn't mention your monitoring situation, so I'd wonder if that's where you need to upgrade, and I'd upgrade the interface/pre situation as long as you've got >500 monitors...

As for what interface/pre that's a complicated situation. Do you want an all in one pre and interface? A seperate interface with a seperate pre? How many channels? Do you want it to be very customizable or simply straightforward?