mic choice need darker mic

Scoob

i was used to using my mk319 (what is considered a darker mic)
i bought my at4040 and although i love its brightness and clarity
i need a darker mic with similar detail. any suggestions in the 0-700 range
at4047 or 4050 maybe?

Scoob said:
at4047 or 4050 maybe?

I think you would find the 4050 to be very similar to the 4040, just not quite as bright. It might be perfect, based on what you're looking for.

Ive heard the mxl v69 is a very dark mic...and its a tube mic....i believe from what i read most people like it and have always commented that its "dark" sounding....i have no first hand experience with it, but like I said ive read alot that stated that.

Janesaid2me said:
Ive heard the mxl v69 is a very dark mic...and its a tube mic....i believe from what i read most people like it and have always commented that its "dark" sounding....i have no first hand experience with it, but like I said ive read alot that stated that.

The V69 is not a dark mic, actually it has a sparkling hi end. It's not a neutral sounding mic, quite colored but I like it very on a number of applications.

Ribbon mics are dark and because the ribbon is very thin they combine the advantages of both dynamics and condensers.

Janesaid2me said:

It sounds like you might like the mxl V76 (tube). It's a balanced sounding mic and there's a hint of the U87 to it, which to me has a dark character. It's the only budget mic I would recommend that I think delivers smooth midrange and silky highs with some darkness to boot. This isn't to say that it's a U87, however; but's it's still a lovely mic.

so far the list is
mxl v76
at4050 or 4047
and ribbon mics which are a new animal to me.
any other suggestions?
what ribbons in the 700 range?

Don't laugh- AKG Solidtube. Just rip the silly foam wind screen out of it and it will do exactly what you are asking for.

Scoob said:
at4047 or 4050 maybe?

Stetch your budget a bit (to $800 or so) and consider an AEA R92 ribbon mic.