Mic attenuation question (Rode NT2-A, Zoom h4n)

RecNewbie

Hi all,
hope this is the right section, since I'm a professional musician but I just got started with this whole recording thing.

I will have to record a concert with 2vl. soloists + small orchestra (no info on venue yet, presumably interior, might be a church).
I have a passable audio card (Scarlett 2i2) but can't use it due to no laptop/PC/MAC/Android USB OTG available, so I will scale back and use the tried and true (if noisy and consumer-level) Zoom h4n.

My questions:
1. Testing the Zoom with the Rode NT2-A (4 tracks: 2 built-in + 1 Phantom powered input for the Rode) and a solo instrument I had to set the level very low (20 on the Zoom's 1-100 scale).
Is it better to set the level higher and use the built in -5 or -10 attenuators on the Rode? I had read something - can't recall where - about using levels around 40 on the Zoom to get best results.*
Also, do I run the risk of damaging the pres on the Zoom with too high a level?

2. I plan on using the Zoom's built-in XY in order to get a stereo image (120 degrees setting) and to use the Rode as an accent mic for the two soloists.
How high/far would you put it, and how? I'm thinking camera left (since violin sound goes mainly to the right of the performer), 1 to 2m away, just above their heads.

Thx in advance

*Edit: Ah, there it is!
Martin Doppelbauer's blog, field recorders test, part II, conclusions (can't post link yet)
"It seems fair to conclude that the Zoom H4n, using its unbalanced 1/4" or 1/8" TRS inputs, should not be operated below a record level of 40 in order to avoid audible distortions even in the low frequency range."
Will this affect me or not, since I will be using 3-pin XLR cables - which should be balanced?

Last edited: