Metal Track

NegadivOne

Alchemy slut
So I've been recording myself and friends for years, this is my first time recording an outside band. I found out all the horror stories I've read over the years are true, from drummers who "have the song down" and "shouldnt have a problem playing to a click", to guitarists who feel their girlfriends should be there to witness magic happening...

Anyways, the playing is kinda sketchy in places, most places when it comes to drums, but theres nothing I can do about that. I just need some constructive help on the mix and editing. Thanks in advance guys!

Original: http://www.lightningmp3.com/live/file.php?id=16132

Latest Version: http://www.lightningmp3.com/live/file.php?id=16147

Last edited:
sounds pretty good..the guitars could be alittle bigger I think.maybe some reverb on them would be inline..other then that it sound great good job:)

this really doesn't sound bad, so please don't take my critique as beating you up--these are just suggestions from my ear to yours. and you're right, the playing is definitely sketchy at times. these guys really need to tighten it up! i hope you're charging them enough that they learn their lesson for next time. :D

my suggestions:

the bass guitar is really undefinined. i'd add some upper mids to give it more attack and definition.

the low end in general is pretty crowded. i'm not sure how much low freq you have in the distorted guitars, but if you can, i'd take out as much as possible and give 'em more midrange to bite harder and sit in the mix better. let the bass handle the low end--both guitars will sound bigger then.

once that happens, i'd a little more low end to the kick drum, although it may only need brought up in level--i can't really tell with all that mud at the bottom end.

i would recommend that the guitarist use less distortion for recording's sake, but i'm sure that's a battle you'll lose. i was totally hung up on tons o' crunch before i got serious about recording. :o