Metal Mixing

LakeBodom

I'm fairly new to the world of tracking, mixing, and mastering (at least, compared to most of the members). I'm currently working on a melodic metal album and it's such a tedious task when it's a one- man band. Regardless, I'm wondering if somebody could offer advice on making many layers and tracks. In my song "Angel Of Shadow And Sun" I have about 35 tracks EQ'd and panned.

I'm not so much into the modern day in-your-face, compress the hell out of everything, but I of course like parts to stand out where they should. I'm not looking for publicity through my music, merely advice and opinions on the sound. I know it's a bit muddy, so any advice is appreciated! You can hear the song I mentioned at Buried Abyss on bandcamp. It should be the first song. Thanks.

before mixing this...

become a 'producer'.

get rid of everything that does not support the song.

be ruthless.

boil it all down to ONLY what is necessary.

then, automate the 'ear candy' in and out of the basic mix, using your stereo field to spread it around...
keeping the basics (kick, snare, hats, bass, vocals\) all centered.

this is just one example of one approach.

it is infinite.

but i can guarantee you, that i do NOT want to listen to 35 tracks at once.

with metal, concentrate on the kick and bass guitar blending and working together, and let that be your dominant sound in the mix.
bring everything else up around that.

make that kick kinda skinny sounding, for metal.
carve out EQ's for every part.

Wow! 35 tracks! That is hefty. I might have to agree with the what gonzo said. Trim out some of that fat first!

I'm not an expert. I have been 'recording' for years. But only in the last two years have I really started to care what it truly sounded like. It has been mostly punk, which isn't a lot different then metal when you get right down to it. The biggest lesson I have learned so far is this: Less is more. You can make less work for you!