Mbox 2 and thin sound guitars

Ericv

So I am rather new to protools worked on our bands EP in a studio with HD wasn't happy with the results so my drummer and I bought Protools rigs he has a Didi 002 and I have an Mbox 2 both running protools 7.4 anyway when I retrack my lead guitars they sound thin as if I am playing in a tunnel no matter what I try. I have tried 2 different amps, 4 different gutiars different EQ levels reverb, delay compression everything I can think of and still nothing sounds very good. I have been using an SM 57 mic and a Sennheiser e835. My amps have been a Marshall Jubilee and an Ampeg Reverocket and les pauls and strats. I am at a loss the amps sound great in the room and bad when recorded I can't figu it out at all. Any help would be great.

I am starting to wonder if the Pres on the Mbox are total crap I have had better results on lessor equimpment.

I'm not sure exactly what your problem is. But I don't many pre's can really degrade a great sounding signal THAT badly. Your 002 pre's shouldn't be the cause, nor your A to D. Your mic's should be doing great

Maybe it's a bad cable? I'm not really sure of the answer. Do your vocals sound normal when recorded? Is it only your guitars with a problem? Where are you putting the microphone? Recording with two microphones can put your signal out of phase.You sure your speakers are okay? This is unlikely a problem with pro-tools.

Why did you go to a studio and get unsatisfactory results with HD, then go buy your own LE system? I guess I should assume you didn't like who was engineering it...

Good luck, hope we can solve the problem.:)

I'd agree with the first reply on some things...

Are you using two mics? If you are, they're probably out of phase.
Where are you micing the amp? Like, where is the mic in relation to the amp. If you have it directly facing the middle of the speaker, that might be an issue.