Maximizers and Ultramizers

Bahrain_Phill

A friend of mine sold me his old Behringer Ultramizer for 30 bucks. I figured what the heck. However, I had never heard of an ultramizer before that day. I have been installing audio systems since I was 15 (over 10 years ago) and never seen or heard of an Ultramizer. So my question is. What the heck does this thing actually DO? And, for those of you who do have one, where in your system do you use it? After doing some reading online and playing with it here, it seems like the Ultramzier is sorta like a compressor, reverb module, and 3 band EQ all in one. The manuel just says things like, "Expands your sound!!!!" (What?! How does it do that?) or "Gives more full sound" :confused: I'm just looking for a more detailed idea of how it does what it claims to do and how I can get the most out of this piece of equipment.

Its a sad excuse for a multi-band compressor. I have actually used one and it is craptacular. I guess if its only $30, its ok to have, but dont use it and expect it to be clean or anything. In short, it is a 'program adaptive' multi-band compressor (only 2 bands, i think) that maybe useful in situations where sound quality can be compromised :-/

Yeah, it is only two band. You can adjust the low band (I forgot the range) and High band. Overall, I am not too impressed with it. I also got a Behringer Compressor/Limiter for 30 bucks...That I am much more happy with.

I have used the 'middle-range' behringer a few times at some live shows... they were usable, but only for drums. They crapped up vocals and other instruments too much for my taste.
All in all, I guess $30 isn't bad for a compressor... you know... just to say you have it, but forget about using it on anything sensitive... it will rape and pillage the fidelity of it with its VCA crappiness.

-JazzMang