Mastering with sound forge

et MA

What techniques can you use with sound forge (I have 4.5) to postmix to give you the closest to finished product you can get short of a pro master? I assume some compression is in order - I see the normalize pull down gives some pre-set options that might help - I also assume some eq would help - I'm kinda new at this, so before I spend umpteen hours trying stuff, it would be helpful to see what works for anyone else - Thanks!

If you just have the stock plug ins, not too much without mangling what you have as far as compression goes. With the paragraphic EQ you can do OK but it depends on the specific material you're sending thru it as to what you'd boost or cut.

Uh oh....

Last time someone asked this question, we had a six month pissing match that ended with the "Mastering Duel". Try the search button on the forum here.

Queue

master of the house....

Well, I guess I gotta work on my mixing then...everything sounds so...separate

I haven't even tried to "Master" or "pre-master" my stuff yet. Unless you've REALLY got your mixing skills down, you should focus on mixing first. When you get something mixed, post it in the MP3 Mixing clinic, where others will critique your mix, and give you some helpful input.

Queue

Here is the link Queue is speaking of:

http://www.homerecording.com/bbs/showthread.php?threadid=31902

Queue is right, ideally if the stuff is recorded right and mixed right it should sound pretty good as is. As the thread above shows, it takes a lot of experiance to know how to "master" something properly to really improve a good mix. On the other hand, as the same thread shows it can be a fun learning experiance as well. As long as it is your own stuff, and you are not chargeing someone, I say fire away!