mastering software

mojovoodoo

ok, here goes more rediculous questions..... i am sure there are other threads that answer my questions, but it's late at night and i just wanna post a new thread and ask more questions before i go to sleep. so......., in another thread i posted , i asked advice on cheap mixing speakers, and got some great responses, so now, i pose the same question on mastering software, again, let me reiterate, i know it is not possible to buy cheap mastering software, and i know that true master houses would say it is a crime against humanity to try to master on a computer versus a true analog 2 track tape.... but, i am really close with my mixes and the mastering process. i did a 2 track stereo master with the psp mix pack( i think it's tc electronics? or maybe it's it's own company called psp?) anyways, it sounds really nice, problem is, i think it's the demo version i downloaded( i thought it was free software) but it says that the demo version it will play a noise every 20 seconds(funny, i can't hear any noises, my ears must be shot) nonetheless, it does an awesome job. and it comes really cheap $149!! but then i went online searching, turns out everyone makes mastering/mixing software these days. anyone got any recommendations? or favorites? i know that t-racks makes something for $299(close enough to my price range) but there is so much to choose from. anyone with some good suggestions? whew, this is so long winded, sorry folks. and once again thank you for all the killer suggestions.

Well I like T-racks but I know it's not popular with a lot of folks around here (many of whom are a great deal more experienced than I am).

It depends on your situation and what you want to acheive with your recordings. I record to make demos, have fun and learn, so T-Racks is fine for my needs. However if you're wanting to take things a little more seriously then I suspect you'll want something better (and more expensive).