Marshall plexi?

beaverbiscuit

Okay, here I go a'swingin' my ignorance bucket around, sloppin' it all over the ground:

What does the word "plexi" refer to when discussing Marshall amps? I see it all the time but I've never understood what it means. I can't even say that I've ever played a Marshall, actually, and both these issues are making me rather sad. So help lighten my burden, y'all, would ya, and give me the definition.

Or for the philanthropists out there, just send me a Marshall and thus relieve my second problem. :D :p :D

Thanks, folks.

There was a small plexiglass plate on the front panel of the amp circa 1969 or so.Ergo "plexi".

Ah, I see!

And then they changed it to something else later, I take it. Interesting.

So was there something in particular about the plexis that made/make them desirable to own?

I'm just a musician with only a smidgeon of geek,so I can only guess.It's the sound they had that knocked everybodys socks off.
I have a custom built tube amp a "mad scientist" tech buddy built for me in his garage,based on a 100 watt twin chassis.Channel one is the '58 Bassman circuit (for bluesy clean) and channel two is the Marshall '69 plexi circuit (for crunch).Except I have EL34s and 12AX7s instead of EL34s and EL84s.I also tried 6550s in it,but the sound was too modern "high gain" for my taste.

I think they were twin gain stage amps with a little less overdrive than the jcm800. Think ACDC, Jimi Hendrix (without the fuzz) early British punk rock etc..

More good info to have. Thanks, y'all.

I've gotta find out more about tube amps. I've never owned or played one, but I'm really chompin' at the bit to get myself a good low wattage tube amp. So many of the boutique amps bill themselves as being "like a plexi" that I just had to figure out exactly what that means.

Thanks again for the knowledge, fellow strum-sters! :D