marshal MXL 603s on acoustic guitar?

frequency_

I ve been using the x/y technique on acoustic guitar using a pair of c1000s, placed 2-3 feet away from the guitar and pointing the guitar. and i ve had some good results. Ive not tried it with other mics and i think its time to replace my c1000's with another pair. I m thinking to go for a pair of marshal MXL 603S. has anyone had any experience recording acoustic guitar with those mics? i ll also be using them on overheads. thx

I've had some good experiences with mine. I find them to be VERY sensitive, so it really helps i fyou have a good room, and can set up some treatment in the space around the mic, or you will get a lot of the room in there.

These are pretty bright, and i like to add a LDC (in my case an Oktava 319) that is off the body of the guitar a bit, and if placement is good, i find that belnded witht he 603s gives a bit more depth and body to the tracks.

I've used them as overheads as well, and the birghtness and sensitivity are the things to work with, cymbals can be over powering if you can't get the placement jsut right, but they sounds pretty good for the price.

If you already have a SDC option though, 603s are not going to be a huge step up the way a really nice pair would be (the oktavas or shures for instance might be a much bigger jump, but I don't have hands on experience there). I think both the c1000's and 603s would be considered bargain mics, althought he 603s might be a good bit better than the c1000 (I don't actually know that at all myself). The next level of mic would probabaly be a better overall investment.

Dave

I m thinking to go for a pair of marshal MXL 603S. has anyone had any experience recording acoustic guitar with those mics?

I've used both the C1000 and MXL603's for acoustic gtr and drum overheads. I prefer the MXL603's for both applications.

The 603's are a bit crispy but not as much as the brittle/crispiness of the C1000's.