Making the best of what I have.

Spazhands

'ere mate
Hi all, not many posts here as of yet but what a great resource.
Basically I have accumulated a small amount of gear over the years and now feel I have enough to make half decent recordings. I had a bassist friend round the other week for the sole purpose of recording a jam and to see what I could achieve with the kit I have. I am a drummer so spend most of my time trying to get the kit to sound good, I did however record some poor guitar:facepalm: I feel I have a good mic placement on the kit, with no rattles etc. I am asking to see what more could be done to make the most of this. I have linked to the complete "track", just the drums on their own and then the drums as they came into ableton. I have added eq, some reverb and a little compression.

I am tracking using some budget drum mics, a couple of behringers and some unbranded thing I found under my bed:laughings:
This lot then runs into a korg 168 soundlink mixer, into my emu 1820 via adat optical and terminates at Ableton.

I am looking to record a friends band in the next few weeks so would like to get everything up together and sounding as good as possible:)

Here is the page with the tracks. I names them Jam 2012
SoundClick artist: One axe one room one outcome - page with MP3 music downloads

Drums sound nice to me, perhaps I would try a more open sound. How are you miking them? I think the only thing those drums are lacking so me nice overheads to get the overall sound of the kit inside the room, since cymbals sound too thin and snare could be more dynamic if the OH is added.

Actually I liked the raw drum track better. How are you recording both bass and guitar? DI? Are you miking the amps?