M-Audio - Oxygen 8?

Johnbmx26

Hello,
I was wondering if anyone has any examples of what they have done with the Oxygen 8? I'm brand new when it comes to midi controllers, but I wanted to get started. I'm a drummer, but would like to do a side thing.. Nothing to complicated.. just some "ambient" type music that I could play drums over.

The reason I ask for sound clips is because I don't know if 25 keys are enough?

John

Unless you are going to move around a lot or are very pushed for space get something with at least 3 octaves. Even if you want to do the bass and treble ends separately 2 octaves quickly feel limited.

If you are just looking for something to use as a "Scratchpad" for recording only, the Oxygen 8 should be sufficient, but if you want something that is more live performance friendly, at least look at a 49 or 61 key model (or better).

Atterion said:
If you are just looking for something to use as a "Scratchpad" for recording only, the Oxygen 8 should be sufficient, but if you want something that is more live performance friendly, at least look at a 49 or 61 key model (or better).

I probably won't be using it for any live performances.. but I guess I probably should look into a bigger keyboard. The E-Mu XBoard 49 looks good great price too. I was wondering about the M-Audio The Keystation 49e, it's only $100 and I've seen it around at a local computer store, it'd be cool if I didn't have to wait for shipping.. Just don't know if it's good model or not?

I've heard of a lag between the keyboard (or any keyboard really) into the computer. Does this mean I need an interface? I've seen some keyboards that say they're "midi keyboard/audio interface." I was wondering if their were any models like that?