Low-end monitor recommendations

OrganMiscreant

I'm only getting into recording. I picked up a Korg D16 to demo stuff with here at home, but I could really use decent monitors for mixing. Thing is, I have *very* little money. (VERY little.) Of course, Christmas is coming, so if you guys respond quickly, maybe I can catch my family before they buy my presents. <grin>

try a pair of yorkvilles, or if your really starved for cash, a lot of big studios
also use little auratone cubes. peace.

:D Yo Org:

Manning is right about the Yorkvilles; however, for about the same $$ you can get the KRK ST8s. The KRKs have an 8.5 inch woofer; the Yorks only a 6.5" woofer. [unless they've changed for 2005 models]

I had the York passives and enjoyed them. I like the KRKs better.

In a pinch you could always use your folks' stereo speakers; that might hasten their present of new monitors to you!! :rolleyes:

Green Hornet :cool: :D

............and may I kindly add my .0000000002 worth on this subject!

Tannoy Proto-J's provide a decent,flat response along with translating well in the low-to-upper mids (where many budget-priced monitors fall flat on) less the ear-fatigue during long hours of operation!
Can be had for street $159-170.

I have a pair of Event TR-5's. Granted, they are only 5 in. speakers, but they sound pretty good. I, also, own some KRK's and they are GREAT!

Hey, on a side note, are you aware of the forum for Korg users? It is www.korgstudios.com . The folks there are VERY helpful and supportive (which is a breath of fresh air after you've hung around here for very long ;) )

Good luck!

Thanks, all... You've given me some ideas to look into.

As to my mom's stereo speakers... Umm... Well, although I can ask my family for cool Xmas presents, mom's stereo is a bit hard to get at, seeing as she lives 65 miles away. (Despite the fact that I'm just getting into recording, I'm 39 years old.)