Low budget music-tech course

Smoulders

Hi guys.

Im setting up what we call over here in the UK a LOCON course, funded by the local government, for kids who have commited crimes to learn some music production skills...

There are already decent enough PC's, and I've bought M-audio keystation controller keyboards and a 'Teaching with Reason' bundle cause I think Reason is the best way to introduce complete beginners to this whole thing.

However, further down the line I want to teach specifics on audio recording and sequencing, which will involve a better sound card than the current built in ones and a decent audio sequencer.

The budget will be low, so I was wondering about the following:

What would be the best low end sound card, maybe with two ins and outs, (1 mono input might suffice, to allow us to record some vocals).

Also, which audio sequencer would you recommend for this. Steinberg have Cubase 4.0 which is 60 quid, but apparently the whole layout is nothing like SX and more like there old way of doing things, which puts me off.

Ideally it needs to be a program that supports rewire for Reason link up and a few plug ins and effects would be nice as the Reason adapted versions we are using have no compressors etc and have a cut down sound library (only 2 subtractor synths can be used for example)

Sorry for the long winded post, but any advice would be greatly appreciated.

The more I can offer these kids the better. Perhaps you know of a cheap version of cubase other than 4.0 and could let me know what it is like...

Thanks alot