Loudness problems - newbie question

hreece

This is a complete newbie question so I am going to post it here.

During my mixing, I am applying high pass filters to my leads and low pass filters to my bass. I am using a EQ on my drum machine instrument so that it is only displaying the vital parts in the signal which contain the kick, snare and hihat. Then a bass instrument, about 100-640hz. I try to make it in the order of kick, bass, synths, snare, synth and then hihat, so that each has a certain area and none are overlapping too much. Basically I aim to chop off all the unwanted and unused signal noise.

Once all my levels seem normal and I think I am going to have a reasonably-looking waveform, I mixdown my song and muddle with the EQ and levels in a wav editor. (Yes, this is my idea of 'mastering'.) Here I try to use as much leeway I can with my audio space to improve the loudness, by boosting the sound with a compressor and controlling it with a brickwall limiter.

...and my audio is still coming out very quiet! The sound is fine, but the loudness is very very low, even compared with other novice/amateur songs. Where am I going wrong?

I've just started messin with gettin my stuff louder too and have heard that the guys with loud mixes are doing multiple passes on their limiters.

But I'm not exactly sure. There's a few guys who have some exceptional recordings. Maybe they'll chime in here. ;)

I am using a EQ on my drum machine instrument so that it is only displaying the vital parts in the signal which contain the kick, snare and hihat.
I'm not sure what you mean by that. What do you mean by "displaying"??? Are you using your eyes or your ears???

I try to make it in the order of kick, bass, synths, snare, synth and then hihat, so that each has a certain area and none are overlapping too much. Basically I aim to chop off all the unwanted and unused signal noise.