looking to buy a bass for recording purposes

guitardude

Hi. Im looking to spend the most is 250$. Something good sounding for recording. I was going to check out the squires and the ibanez's grs200s

any other suggestions?

I can't say enough good things about the Ibanez stuff. Really good gear and more than competitive with the rest of the products on the market. Go try a couple out at your local shop if you at all can.

I used to own a Yamaha BB350 w/ Active EMG pickups (upgrade).

I bought this bass on eBay for under $300 shipped. It was great for recording.

Definitely go the used route, and make sure you get decent pickups + strings.

I went through this process myself a few weeks back. I am a long time guitarist who also was looking to buy my first bass and was looking to spend around 200-250. I tried the Yamaha's, Ibanezes and Squires (didn't like the Squires at all), but what I ended up buying was the Dean Edge One. It's a nice looking bass with two soapbar style pickups, and I thought it had the best sound in my price range. Very playable as well; in fact since I bought it I've actually spent more time playing it than any of my guitars, and have enjoyed it immensely :D So, try 'em all, and buy the one that you like best, just be sure you try one of the Dean's before making the final decision.

I just got a SX bass from rondomusic.com for less than half your budget. A few minor finish flaws/issues, but it was intonated to within 10 cents everywhere on the neck, the action was ok, and the pickups are decent. It shipped with tiny strings, and the nut needed to be expanded to accept normal sized ones.

Grab whatever you like the look of, pay for a setup, and install top self pups, and you'll have a monster for around $300. It would be more than fine with just the setup, though.

For instance.