Looking for some newbie links.....

JazzMasterWil

Hi guys, I'm a newbie here, but I've been recording for awhile. I don't have anything really nice or fancy, all my stuff is pretty simple.... I basically just like to "jam with myself" and record it.

But I'm very interested in making my room sound "better". (In my case I should have said "less awful").

I don't have the money or space to build separate areas right now.... So I'm really just trying to do the best I can with what I've got.

Drums are really a nightmare to play and record in this room, they just sound awful....... And theese drums sound great with the exact same tuning, miced up on stage. Granted my mics aren't as nice as the mics at most clubs and what-not, but I really think I can do better than this.

I know you guys hear this sort of thing all the time, so I'm not really asking for individual one-on-one help. I'd just really appericate some links.

Something like "a complete idiots guide to make your room sound less like you've been recording in a small dungeon in the center of a much larger dungeon that is located in the center of the earth" would be very helpful.

:D :D :D :D :D Thanks in advance :D :D :D :D :D

Last edited:
Thank jkokura :D (I added to your rep. as well, sorry I called it feedback earlier. I have a pretty crippling addiction to ebay).

That link had a ton of interesting information. And I kind of got lost goofing around on that page, and I saw that they have an SAE school about 4 hours from where I live..... I wonder what it be like to actually go there....

I'm working really hard on failing out of communitity college for the second time. :mad: So, I don't think there's anyway I'll ever make it up there..... but it can't hurt to dream right? :rolleyes:

Anyways, in the little bit of research I've done so far. It seems like, building some moveable panels would be a really good idea for me.