looking for some feedback on my first songs?

matthewsquires

i'm very very new to recording. and music in general i guess. i'm trying to get constructive criticism i guess, so if you're just an elitist asshole, don't bother responding to this post.

here are the first few songs i recorded, i'm not looking to make the best recording, i kinda like lo-fi sorta stuff, but i would like suggestions in how to mix better and the such. i just use sonar for right now.

anyway here's the link to my myspace, i'd say listen to manger song and corner of the earth and tell me what you think about those...

www.myspace.com/matthewsquiresmusic

thanks,
matt squires

No bugs as far as I can see. The style suits the lo-fi production so well and the songs shine through very nicely indeed.

I really like the style actually. Very Steven Malkmus/Willy Mason.

I really like the fluffs on the piano too - it all seems to work real well!

Really lovely bass sound on Corner of the Earth. Great lyrics too - "she was fighting off the bible/and that God almighty church".

Austin's a great spot for music. I can see you knocking 'em out at SXSW in a couple of years!

Both tracks are basically sound. The lead vocals are unusual and interesting, but I wonder whether I could see myself listening to a whole album, or whether I would have had enough after a couple of tracks.

Lyrically the songs are better than average, with original turns of phrase and novel themes.

As I listened, only a few things commanded my attention:

1 On both tracks (Manger and Corner) I sensed a timing tension, as if, during tracking, piano was occasionally and slightly ahead of the kit . . . or it may have been around the other way . . . it's hard to tell . . . but it's like an itch you can't scratch, and detracts from the pleasure of listening.