Looking for critique on metal track

AndySteel

Hi!

I am a newbie here, and would really like some feedback on this track: God is Dead

It's recorded on a Maya MkII through Cubase XT. Guitars through a Rocktron Taboo Artist, bass is lined directly and the drums are ns_kit. I've been working with home recording for several years and would like input on recording, mixing as well as composing. There's always room for improvement, right?

Obviously you have a good grasp on the recording part.
I was struck by some listening fatique of the mix though. I realize this is an MP3(?) so that might be the problem, but it sounds like hugh collisions in the lower frequencies by bass/bassdrum/etc ?
FYI I was listening pretty loud on Fostex PM-1 Studio Nearfield Monitors.
So my only negative critisism was the mix, without me being able to say exactly where it is wrong in the freq. range.
Other than that; good stuff pal!

Emusic said:
I was struck by some listening fatique of the mix though. I realize this is an MP3(?) so that might be the problem, but it sounds like hugh collisions in the lower frequencies by bass/bassdrum/etc ?
!
Thanks for your input. Yes, it's an MP3 (112 samples originally), created by mixing down in Cubase. I'll have a listen and see if I can figure out what you're pointing at and perhaps I'll make a new post. Do you think it has to do with the EQ of the bass? If so, can you give me some hints regarding boosting/cutting?

After downloading it and taking it into SoundForge I suspect the bassdrum to have lots of reverb? A dryer bassdrum would do I think. Ain't sure though.
I dont like Audio Mixdown from cubase to MP3. I normally mixdown to Wav and then use SoundForge to convert to MP3. Have a feeling the result is better.
Might be wrong but...
Back to your tune; just from a quick listen I think its the bass drum that makes it so muddy down below. A more defined and dry bassdrum makes it better I think.