Looking for advice on vocal technique, recording and mixing

You said : Problem: it seems to me that I sound even worse recorded than live. Obviously it's hard to judge, because I don't hear myself live, but people who hear me don't seem to cringe as much as I do when I listen back to the recording.

If you are not use to hearing your own voice it can sound wrong to your ear. Remember you are probably your own worst critic. Plus live music is a lot more forgiving than a recording.

Also if you are having trouble singing with a headphones, try uncovering one of your ears.

I am also a novice so if the things I am saying are things you already know, I apologize. I am just learning as well.

As far as I can tell, with the examples you provided you seem to moving in the right direction.

Coming late to the discussion, and I don't have much to offer by way of mixing, but I hear some things in your vocal technique that are causing the pitchiness in some places. Basically, you are using only half of your voice to sing with, and you need to have both registers equally strong. You have the lower register, or "chest" voice - which is what you're singing with currently, and there is falsetto, which is the upper register, or "head" voice, which is very weak and not participating at all right now.

The lower register and falsetto work antagonistically, and so if they aren't equally strong and coordinated, one will take over whenever it's present. The way you are compensating for lacking a developed falsetto is you sing nasal as you go higher. Ideally, as Broken_H stated earlier, you would need a good vocal teacher to help you through this. However, there are a few exercises you can do that will get you started: