Looking for advice on vocal technique, recording and mixing

Edhie

Yes, all of it at the same time!
Sorry guys, I know your ears must be tired and I would love to have contributed something to anything else before writing this, but I don't feel like there is much I can bring to the table - yet.

I am a novice singer, have been taking a few lessons, working on a couple things. I am really really motivated to work hard and improve what I can. I can usually hear when I am off-pitch, rhythm varies, and obviously some stuff to work on in breathing, support and range.

Singing lessons do not come cheap so I have started recording myself at home, in order to listen back to it and see what I am doing right/wrong.

Problem: it seems to me that I sound even worse recorded than live. Obviously it's hard to judge, because I don't hear myself live, but people who hear me don't seem to cringe as much as I do when I listen back to the recordings.

Here is a recording of a song that is very difficult for me. The higher note I have hit for the first time in my life when recording the song, and I don't speak Japanese so it makes it a whole different kind of messy. This is by far the worst of all the songs I tried, so I am thinking it will be the best to showcase my flaws so that you can ruthlessly pinpoint them :) Aesthetes, turn back now!

The recording is essentially straight out of computer, only some compression to make it slightly less terrible.

I wondered if you'd care to give me your opinion on what is wrong with it and on which levels?
  • Always happy for singing technique advice
  • Would love recording technique advice
  • If anyone has any idea how to EQ this... thing, I would be eternally grateful. Whatever I attempted just made it worse.

Here is what I know, all the rest I would love to learn: