Looking for a different sound... help?

ProJect

Hey,

I'm kinda new to recording, but I think I've got a pretty decent start. I bought a Korg D16 to record on and now I have the following mics:

Oktava MC012 (2)
CAD E-200 (1)
SM-58 (2)
AKG C1000(I should prolly sell these. I don't use them) (2)

I use a Mackie VLZ mixer to feed the phantom power. Now... I wanna get a very silky sounding mic for vocals. I don't wanna spend over $1000. The mics I'm looking at are the Rode NTK, Rode K2, the Studio Projects T3, the BLUE Dragonfly, or the EV RE20.

Which of those would you guys recommend? Any other suggestions?

Should I maybe look at getting some better pre-amps? Would it matter given that I'm using a D16? For another $1000, what 4 channels would sound the best with my mics? I'm just looking for some pretty neutral/flexible sound. Thanks for the help, guys!

Connor

You need a nice large diaphragm dynamic based on your selection...

I'd get the RE20 and maybe a couple FMR RNP Preamps. The RNC Compressor wouldn't hurt, either...

Of course, there are about a zillion decent "channel strip" type preamps out there with EQ, compression, etc. that you should also consider...

John Scrip - www.massivemastering.com

Dragonfly is pretty tough to beat in that price range for most vocals. Particularly the softer, breathier type. Not something I'd use on a more aggressive screamer type, but a very very nice vocal mic for a crooner type.